Sylhet Sixers maintained their upbeat note in the 5th Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) as they beat Comilla Victorians by four wickets at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Sunday for their second consecutive win in the seven-team meet.

Upul Tharanga clinched the 2nd successive man of the match title as the first player in this edition tournament, scoring 51 runs of 40 balls.

The Sri Lankan left-hand batsman played an unbeaten innings of 69 while West Indian batsman Andre Fletcher scored 63 in Sylhet Sixers’ emphatic nine-wicket victory against defending champions Dhaka Dynamites in the tournament opener on Saturday.

In their 2nd match, Sylhet Sixers chased down a target of 146 runs scoring 148 for 6 in 19.5 overs where Tharanga shared a partnership of 73 off 8.4 overs with Fletcher in the opening stand to register his back-to-back half century.

Earlier, sent in to bat first, Victorians scored 145 for 6 in 20 overs riding on Marlon Samuels’s half century of 60 runs.

MN Samuels faced 47 balls to fire two boundaries and three over-boundaries before being caught by all-rounder skipper Nasir Hossain off Liam Plunkett, leaving team collection at 137/6 in 19.1 overs.

Sylhet Sixers started the seven-team tournament upsetting defending champions Dhaka Dynamites by nine wickets in the opener at the same venue on Saturday. However, this was Comilla Victorians’ 1st encounter in the tournament.

Sylhet Sixers: 1 Upul Tharanga, 2 Andre Fletcher, 3 Ross Whiteley, 4 Sabbir Rahman, 5 Nasir Hossain (capt), 6 Shuvagata Hom, 7 Nurul Hasan (wk), 8 Taijul Islam, 9 Abul Hasan, 10 Liam Plunkett, 11 Krishmar Santokie.

Comilla Victorians: 1 Imrul Kayes, 2 Liton Das (wk), 3 Marlon Samuels, 4 Jos Buttler, 5 Alok Kapali, 6 Dwayne Bravo, 7 Mohammad Nabi (capt), 8 Mohammad Saifuddin, 9 Rashid Khan, 10 Arafat Sunny, 11 Al-Amin Hossain.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.