The National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam ul Haq has selected 15-member squad for the ICC Champions Trophy, 2017 to be played in England and Wales from June 1, 2017 to June 18, 2017.

The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions and the recent performances of some players in domestic and international tours. Azhar Ali making his comeback in the team looking at his good track record at English conditions, whereas Umar Akmal also makes a comeback after bringing considerable improvement in his fitness, and his performance in the ongoing Pakistan Cup.

Young Shadab Khan and Fahim Ashraf are retained in the side to give the team variety in the shape of spin and fast bowling all-rounders, respectively. Overall the team consists of experience and youth and the selectors believe that team will do well in the ICC event”, said chief selector Inzimam ul Haq.

The Sarfraz Ahmed-led side will play warm-up matches against Bangladesh (May 27 and Australia May 29 at Edgbaston) before taking on India in its opening match of the ICC Champions Trophy at Edgbaston on June 4, 2017. The selected players are:

Pakistan squad: Sarfraz Ahmad  (Captain- WK), Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Muhammad Amir, Muhammad Hafeez, Shahdab Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.