The first test between New Zealand and South Africa ended in a draw on Sunday after heavy rain washed out the fifth and final day’s play in Dunedin, leaving both sides frustrated at losing the chance to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

The match had been delicately poised entering the final day with South Africa 224 for six in the second innings, a lead of 191 runs, with captain Faf du Plessis on 56 and Vernon Philander on one at University Oval.

Heavy rain that began early on Sunday, however, ensured a delayed start and after the scheduled lunch break was taken at 1 p.m. (0000 GMT), umpires Kumar Dharmasena and Bruce Oxenford decided there was no chance of any play.

“I think the game was shaping up quite nicely for all three results,” New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said. “The game was certainly in the balance and it’s just a shame not to get any play today.

“But it’s nice going into the second match with both teams having played some good cricket.”

Scoreboard at close of play on the fifth and final day in the first Test between New Zealand and South Africa on Sunday in Dunedin, New Zealand.

South Africa’s opening batsman Dean Elgar, who scored 140 in the first innings and 89 in the second, was named man of the match.

The second game in Wellington starts on March 16, before the third match at Seddon Park in Hamilton begins on March 25.

South africa v New Zealand Scoreboard:

South Africa 1st innings 308 (D. Elgar 140, T. Bavuma 64, F. du Plessis 52; T. Boult 4-64)
New Zealand  1st innings 341 (K. Williamson 130, J. Raval 52, B. Watling 50; K. Maharaj 5-94)
South Africa 2nd innings (Overnight: 224-6)
S. Cook                   c Watling b Boult          0
D. Elgar                  c Williamson b Patel       89
H. Amla                   c sub b Wagner             24
J. Duminy                 lbw b Wagner               39
F. du Plessis             not out                    56
T. Bavuma                 b Santner                  6
Q. de Kock                b Patel                    4
V. Philander              not out                    1
Extras                    (b-1 lb-3 w-1)             5
Total                     (for 6 wickets, 102 overs) 224
Fall of wickets: 1-0 S. Cook,2-39 H. Amla,3-113 J. Duminy,4-193 D. Elgar,5-206 T. Bavuma,6-218 Q. de Kock
To bat: K. Maharaj, M. Morkel, K. Rabada
T. Boult                  15 – 4 – 34 – 1
N. Wagner                 27 – 7 – 57 – 2(w-1)
M. Santner                19 – 6 – 37 – 1
J. Patel                  36 – 15 – 72 – 2
J. Neesham                5 – 0 – 20 – 0
Umpire: Kumar Dharmasena
Umpire: Bruce Oxenford
TV umpire: Rod Tucker
Match referee: David Boon
Result: Draw

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.