Off-spinner Mehedi Hasan Miraz has been included in the Bangladesh ODI Squad for the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka. Miraz, who had returned home after the second Test, has already flown from Dhaka to join the team there.

The squad for the first two ODIs now consists of 17 players after adding the teenage allrounder to the team.

The decision to send him back came after a suggestion from the team manager, chief selector Minhajul Abedin said.

“Sri Lanka team has five-six left-handed batsmen. Team management feels another off spinner may be needed as they are more useful against left-handed batsmen. So we are sending him,” he told

The team now has four right-arm all rounders who bowl off-spin, including Mahmudullah, Mossaddek Hossain and Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury.

Having made his international debut against England in October, Miraz has played seven Tests. But he is yet to feature in the limited-overs.

Bangladesh squad for first two Sri Lanka ODIs:

Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Subashis Roy Chowdhury, Sanzamul Islam, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehedi Hasan Miraz.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.