Seamer Nuwan Kulasekara picked up four wickets to help Sri Lanka register a comfortable 70-run win in the third and final one-day international against Bangladesh on Saturday and level the series at 1-1.

Half-centuries from Kusal Mendis and Thisara Perera took the hosts, who lost the opening ODI in Dambulla, to 280 for nine in their 50 overs after Bangladesh won the toss at the Sinhalese Sports Club Ground.

Kulasekara’s double strike at the start hampered Bangladesh’s chase as the touring side were reduced to 11-3 and they never recovered before being bundled out for 210 in the 45th over.

Kulasekara struck twice in his first two overs to send back Tamim Iqbal and Sabbir Rahman while test captain Mushfiqur Rahim was out lbw first ball to paceman Suranga Lakmal.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and opener Soumya Sarkar put together a quickfire partnership of 77 for the fourth wicket before the latter fell to off-spinner Dilruwan Perera.

Shakib made 54 but his dismissal to Dilruwan effectively ended Bangladesh’s hopes of a series victory.

Mehedi Hasan Miraz delayed Sri Lanka’s win with 51, his second half-century in ODIs, before he was out to the first ball of Kulasekara’s third spell. The seamer also dismissed Taskin Ahmed to finish with figures of 4-37 in 7.3 overs.

Earlier, captain Upul Tharanga and Danushka Gunathilaka gave the hosts a brisk start with an opening partnership of 76 before both were dismissed in quick succession.

The 22-year-old Mendis, who scored 102 in the rain-disrupted second ODI in Dambulla, continued his strong form with a well-made 54.

Sri Lanka looked good for a big total but lost their way in the middle after the runouts of Dinesh Chandimal and Milinda Siriwardana.

Chandimal’s knock was cut short at 21 when he was out in bizarre fashion with Mushfiqur Rahim removing the bails when the batsman had lifted his bat after having initially grounded it in the crease.

Thisara’s 40-ball 52, which included four fours and a six, gave Sri Lanka’s innings late momentum.

Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Scoreboard

Sri Lanka Innings

Danushka Gunathilaka c Mahmudullah b M. Hasan 34

Upul Tharanga b Ahmed 35

Kusal Mendis c Rahim b M. Rahman 54

Dinesh Chandimal run out (Ahmed, Rahim) 21

Milinda Siriwardana run out (Rahim, Rahim) 12

Asela Gunaratne c Mahmudullah b Mortaza 34

Thisara Perera c Ahmed b Mortaza 52

Seekkuge Prasanna c Mahmudullah b M. Rahman 1

Dilruwan Perera c Iqbal b Mortaza 15

Nuwan Kulasekara not out 1

Suranga Lakmal not out 2

Extras (lb-2 w-17) 19

Total (for 9 wickets, 50 overs) 280

Fall of wickets: 1-76 D. Gunathilaka,2-87 U. Tharanga,3-136 D. Chandimal,4-161 M. Siriwardana,5-194 K. Mendis,6-216 A. Gunaratne,7-230 S. Prasanna,8-275 D. Perera,9-277 T. Perera


Mashrafe Mortaza 10 – 0 – 65 – 3(w-5)

Mustafizur Rahman 10 – 0 – 55 – 2(w-1)

Mehedi Hasan 10 – 1 – 49 – 1(w-1)

Taskin Ahmed 8 – 1 – 50 – 1(w-10)

Mahmudullah 1 – 0 – 5 – 0

Shakib Al Hasan 8 – 0 – 41 – 0

Mosaddek Hossain 3 – 0 – 13 – 0

Bangladesh Innings

Tamim Iqbal c&b N. Kulasekara 4

Soumya Sarkar st Chandimal b D. Perera 38

Sabbir Rahman c Chandimal b N. Kulasekara 0

Mushfiqur Rahim lbw b Lakmal 0

Shakib Al Hasan c Gunathilaka b D. Perera 54

Mosaddek Hossain b Prasanna 9

Mahmudullah c Chandimal b Lakmal 7

Mehedi Hasan c Tharanga b N. Kulasekara 51

Mashrafe Mortaza c&b Prasanna 16

Taskin Ahmed c Gunaratne b N. Kulasekara 14

Mustafizur Rahman not out 1

Extras (lb-2 w-14) 16

Total (all out, 44.3 overs) 210

Fall of wickets: 1-4 T. Iqbal,2-10 Sa. Rahman,3-11 M. Rahim,4-88 S. Sarkar,5-111 Mosa. Hossain,6-118 S. Al Hasan,7-127 Mahmudullah,8-155 M. Mortaza,9-209 M. Hasan,10-210 T. Ahmed


Nuwan Kulasekara 7.3 – 0 – 37 – 4

Suranga Lakmal 8 – 0 – 38 – 2(w-4)

Dilruwan Perera 10 – 1 – 47 – 2(w-6)

Thisara Perera 2 – 0 – 14 – 0

Asela Gunaratne 2 – 0 – 16 – 0

Seekkuge Prasanna 10 – 1 – 33 – 2(w-4)

Milinda Siriwardana 5 – 1 – 23 – 0

Toss – Bangladesh
Series – 3-match series drawn 1-1
Player of the match – NLTC Perera (Sri Lanka)
Player of the series – BKG Mendis (Sri Lanka)
Umpires – MA Gough (England) and RSA Palliyaguruge
TV umpire – S Ravi (India)
Match referee – AJ Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
Reserve umpire – REJ Martinesz

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.