Image credit: BCCI

Indian captain Ajinkya Rahane won the toss and elected to bat first against Afghanistan who make their test debut in the one-off match at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Thursday.

Led by a middle-order batsman, Asghar Stanikzai, Afghanistan become the 12th test playing nation after being recognised by International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2001. Rahane is leading the Indian the squad in Virat Kohli’s absence for the one-off Test against Afghanistan.

Date & Time Matches & Venues Results
Jun 14, Thu – Jun 18, Mon
10:00 AM
04:00 AM GMT / 09:30 AM IST / 8:30 AM AFT
India vs Afghanistan, Only Test
M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
India beat Afghanistan by an innings and 262 runs to win the one-off Test in just two days.

India Day 1: India – 347/6 in 78 overs (Hardik Pandya 10, Ravichandran Ashwin 7)

India 1st Innings: all out for 474 in 104.5 overs (Dhawan 107, Vijay 105, Hardik 71; Yamin Ahmadzai 3-51).

  • The Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan became the first Indian cricketer to score a century before Lunch on Day 1 of a Test.
  • India were bowled out for 474 before lunch on the second day of Afghanistan’s debut Test in Bangalore on Friday.
Afghanistan 1st Innings – Afghanistan 109 (Nabi 24, Ashwin 4-27, Jadeja 2-18)

Afghanistan 2nd Innings 103 (Shahidi 36*, Jadeja 4-17, Umesh 3-26)

Player of the Match: Shikhar Dhawan

Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

TV umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

India: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Afghanistan: Asghar Stanikzai (captain), Mohammad Shahzad, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Nabi, Afsar Zazai (wicketkeeper), Rashid Khan, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.