Bangladesh win 2nd test

Bangladesh secured their maiden test win against Sri Lanka with a four-wicket victory on the final day of the second test at the P Sara Oval on Sunday.

Playing their 100th test, the touring side chased down their target of 191 in the final session to level the two-match series at 1-1.

Captain Mushfiqur Rahim was unbeaten on 22 while Mehedi Hasan was not out on two after hitting the winning runs.

Bangladesh had lost 15 tests and drawn two of their previous 17 matches in the five-day format against Sri Lanka and Sunday’s victory is undoubtedly their best away from home after they beat England in Dhaka last October.

The South Asian nation’s other test successes have come against West Indies, whose glory days are long past and are no longer considered to be among test cricket’s major players, and Zimbabwe.

Result: Bangladesh won by 4 wickets

Experienced opening batsman Tamim Iqbal anchored the chase with a stroke-filled 82 after home captain Rangana Herath had picked up two wickets in successive deliveries to reduce Bangladesh to 22-2.

Tamim, who hit seven fours and a six, added 109 for the third wicket with Sabbir Rahman before the latter fell for 41.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan fell for 15 with Bangladesh still 29 runs away from a famous victory and there were more nervous moments awaiting them.

Mushfiqur Rahim was given out leg before but the Bangladesh captain managed to overturn the umpire’s decision on review with replays confirming the delivery was missing the stumps.

Herath, celebrating his 39th birthday on Sunday, could not hold on to a return catch offered by Mosaddek Hossain, but later dismissed him for 13 with Bangladesh needing two for the win.

Mushfiqur remained unbeaten on 22 while Mehedi Hasan was not out on two after hitting the winning runs that sparked wild celebrations from the visiting team.

Sri Lanka Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath (capt), Suranga Lakmal, Lakshan Sandakan

Bangladesh Squad: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Subashis Roy, Mustafizur Rahman

Test Series Sri Lanka v Bangladesh scoreboard

Sri Lanka 1st innings 338 (D. Chandimal 138)

Bangladesh 1st innings 467 (S. Al Hasan 116, M. Hossain 75, S. Sarkar 61, M. Rahim 52; R. Herath 4-82, L. Sandakan 4-140)

Sri Lanka 2nd innings (Overnight: 268-8)

D. Karunaratne c Sarkar b Al Hasan 126

U. Tharanga b M. Hasan 26

K. Mendis c Rahim b M. Rahman 36

D. Chandimal c Rahim b M. Rahman 5

A. Gunaratne lbw b Al Hasan 7

D. de Silva c Rahim b M. Rahman 0

N. Dickwella c Rahim b Al Hasan 5

D. Perera run out (Roy, M. Hasan) 50

R. Herath lbw b T. Islam 9

S. Lakmal c Mosa. Hossain b Al Hasan 42

L. Sandakan not out 0

Extras (b-4 lb-8 w-1) 13

Total (all out, 113.2 overs) 319

Fall of wickets: 1-57 U. Tharanga,2-143 K. Mendis,3-165 D. Chandimal,4-176 A. Gunaratne,5-177 D. de Silva,6-190 N. Dickwella,7-217 D. Karunaratne,8-238 R. Herath,9-318 D. Perera,10-319 S. Lakmal


S. Roy 16 – 4 – 36 – 0(w-1)

M. Hasan 24 – 0 – 71 – 1

M. Rahman 23 – 3 – 78 – 3

S. Al Hasan 36.2 – 9 – 74 – 4

Mosa. Hossain 3 – 0 – 10 – 0

T. Islam 11 – 1 – 38 – 1

Bangladesh 2nd innings (Target: 191 runs)

T. Iqbal c Chandimal b D. Perera 82

S. Sarkar c Tharanga b Herath 10

I. Kayes c Gunaratne b Herath 0

Sa. Rahman lbw b D. Perera 41

S. Al Hasan b D. Perera 15

M. Rahim not out 22

Mosa. Hossain c Dickwella b Herath 13

M. Hasan not out 2

Extras (b-4 lb-1 w-1) 6

Total (for 6 wickets, 57.5 overs) 191

Fall of wickets: 1-22 S. Sarkar,2-22 I. Kayes,3-131 T. Iqbal,4-143 Sa. Rahman,5-162 S. Al Hasan,6-189 Mosa. Hossain

Did not bat: Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Subashis Roy


D. Perera 22 – 1 – 59 – 3

R. Herath 24.5 – 2 – 75 – 3

D. de Silva 2 – 0 – 7 – 0

L. Sandakan 6 – 1 – 34 – 0

S. Lakmal 2 – 0 – 7 – 0(w-1)

A. Gunaratne 1 – 0 – 4 – 0

Toss – Sri Lanka, who chose to bat
Series – 2-match series drawn 1-1
Test debut – Mosaddek Hossain (Bangladesh)
Player of the match – Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)
Player of the series – Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)
Umpires – Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and S Ravi (India)
TV umpire – M Erasmus (South Africa)
Match referee – AJ Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
Reserve umpire – RSA Palliyaguruge
Close of play

– day 1 – Sri Lanka 1st innings 238/7 (LD Chandimal 86*, HMRKB Herath 18*, 83.1 ov)
– day 2 – Bangladesh 1st innings 214/5 (Shakib Al Hasan 18*, Mushfiqur Rahim 2*, 60 ov)
– day 3 – Sri Lanka 2nd innings 54/0 (FDM Karunaratne 25*, WU Tharanga 25*, 13 ov)
– day 4 – Sri Lanka 2nd innings 268/8 (MDK Perera 26*, RAS Lakmal 16*, 100 ov)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.