Image credit: ICC Cricket

Rumana Ahmed’s wonderful all-round performances and Farzana’s excellent batting has given Bangladesh an unforgettable win over defending champions India in Women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup tournament.

Bangladesh all-rounder scores 36-ball 42* and returns 3/21 in a thrilling seven-wicket win in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday.

Salma Khatun and Co restricted India to 141 by giving away only 20 runs in the last four overs and then finished the chase with two balls in hand.

The two teams have faced each other 10 T20s and four One-Day Internationals.

This is also the first-ever Asia Cup defeat for India, who have taken home the titles of all six editions of the tournament.

Bangladesh made a comeback against last edition’s runners-up Pakistan on Monday with a seven-wicket victory after a 64-run defeat by Sri Lanka in the opening match.

The 142 total against India is also the highest posted by Bangladesh Women in T20.

Fargana Hoque accompanied Player of the Match Rumana to the victory with an unbeaten half-century after opener Shamima Sultana left a strong base with 33 – something she did against Pakistan.

Fargana and Rumana now hold the record partnership of 93 runs for Bangladesh.

India Captain Harmanpreet Kaur contributed highest 42 to their total after she won the toss and chose to bat first.

India Women : 141/7 in 20 overs (Harmanpreet 42, Deepti 32, Pooja 20; Rumana 3/21, Salma 1/21)

Bangladesh Women : 142/3 in 19.4 overs (Fargana 52*, Rumana 42*, Shamima 33; Poonam 1/21)

Result : Bangladesh Women won by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match : Rumana Ahmed.

Bangladesh will next play Thailand on Thursday, before India’s clash against Sri Lanka.

India Women Squad: Mona Meshram, Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Jhulan Goswami, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Bangladesh Women Squad: Shamima Sultana (wk), Ayasha Rahman, Fargana Hoque, Nigar Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Rumana Ahmed, Salma Khatun (c), Jahanara Alam, Khadija Tul Kubra, Nahida Akter, Sanjida Islam

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.