Bangladesh gets to enhance its chances of direct qualification to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in an upcoming tri-series to be held in Dublin from 12 to 24 May.

Bangladesh,  placed seventh in the rankings with 91 points on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings, will play four matches in the tournament which will be held in Dublin from May 12 to May 24.

The Tigers will play two matches each against the hosts and the fourth-ranked New Zealand. Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and his men will get an opportunity to improve their chances for a direct entry into the 2019 World Cup at the tri-nation series in Ireland, but it comes with a risk.

Series scenarios for Bangladesh:

  • Wins all its four matches – 97 points
  • Wins both matches against Ireland and one against New Zealand – 94 points
  • Wins both matches against Ireland but loses both to New Zealand – 90 points
  • Loses one match against Ireland and both to New Zealand – 87 points
  • Loses all four matches – 83 points

Victory against the Black Caps will improve their points but defeat against the Irish team will be costly for the Tigers.

A win against New Zealand and two against Ireland could help Bangladesh overtake Sri Lanka (93) as they will reach 94 points, while winning all four matches will lift them to 97 points.

Before leaving the country with the team, skipper Mashrafe said they will take the field keeping the rankings in their sights.

Bangladesh are three points ahead of Pakistan at the moment while the ninth-placed West Indies are 12 points behind them.

New Zealand, on the other hand, will stay on fourth even if they lose to Bangladesh in both the matches.

The cut-off date for the rankings is Sep 30 this year. The four other teams on the ODI table will fight in the qualifiers for the remaining spots.

Hosts England and seven other top-ranked teams will earn direct routes into the 2019 edition of the showcase event.

MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings (as on 10 May, before the Ireland tri-series)

Rank    Team                Points

  1. South Africa          123
  2. Australia               118
  3. India                    117
  4. New Zealand         115
  5. England               110 (+1)
  6. Sri Lanka               93
  7. Bangladesh            91
  8. Pakistan                88
  9. West Indies           79
  10. Afghanistan           52
  11. Zimbabwe             48
  12. Ireland                 42 (-1)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.