Bangladesh beat India in Women’s T20 Asia Cup final

ACC Women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup

Bangladesh have stunned India by three wickets to win the ACC Women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup in a fairytale finish in a last-ball thriller in Malaysia.

Congratulations to the Bangladesh Women's Cricket Team on this historic victory against India in the final of Women's…

Posted by Shakib Al Hasan on Sunday, June 10, 2018

By doing so, they have broken India’s stranglehold on the Asia Cup who had won each of the previous six tournaments.

The women earned their place in the cricketing folklore by bringing Bangladesh’s first international trophy 21 years after the men dramatically won the ICC Trophy in Malaysia.

Posted by Bangladesh Cricket : The Tigers on Sunday, June 10, 2018

Needing two off the final ball, Jahanara Alam swung towards midwicket with captain Salma Khatun at the other end. She stormed back for a second with a desperate dive to make history.

Bangladesh won the toss at the Kinara Academy Oval in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday and sent the Indians in to bat first.

Rumana was declared the Player of the Match for picking up two wickets and scoring 23 crucial runs.

Bangladesh Women won by 3 wickets

India – 112/9 20/20 ov RR: 5.60
Bangladesh – 113/7 20/20 ov RR: 5.65

Venue: Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur

Umpires: Shozab Raza, Ranmore Martinesz

Third Umpire: Sarika Prasad

Match Referee: Wendell Labrooy

India Women Squad: Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Anuja Patil, Jhulan Goswami, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Ekta Bisht, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav

Bangladesh Women Squad: Shamima Sultana (wk), Ayasha Rahman, Fargana Hoque, Sanjida Islam, Fahima Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Nigar Sultana, Rumana Ahmed, Salma Khatun (c), Khadija Tul Kubra, Nahida Akter

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.