Bangladesh vs Australia_Dhaka Test_Taijul

Bangladesh recorded a first test victory over Australia with a 20-run victory in the opening test on Wednesday, the hosts taking 1-0 lead in the two-match series at the Shere Bangla National Stadium.

Chasing 265 to win the spin-dominated contest, Australia were all out for 244 in the post-lunch session on the penultimate day.

David Warner (112) top-scored for Australia with his 19th test century, while Shakib Al Hasan was the pick of the Bangladesh bowlers with figures of 5-85.

Chittagong hosts the second and final test from Monday.

Scoreboard: at close of play on the fourth day in the first Test between Bangladesh and Australia on Wednesday in Mirpur, Bangladesh

Bangladesh 1st innings 260 (S. Al Hasan 84, T. Iqbal 71)

Australia 1st innings 217 (S. Al Hasan 5-68)

Bangladesh 2nd innings 221 (T. Iqbal 78; N. Lyon 6-82)

Australia 2nd innings (Target: 265 runs)

D. Warner lbw b Al Hasan 112

M. Renshaw lbw b M. Hasan 5

U. Khawaja c T. Islam b Al Hasan 1

S. Smith c Rahim b Al Hasan 37

P. Handscomb c Sarkar b T. Islam 15

G. Maxwell b Al Hasan 14

M. Wade lbw b Al Hasan 4

A. Agar c&b T. Islam 2

P. Cummins not out 33

N. Lyon c Sarkar b M. Hasan 12

J. Hazlewood lbw b T. Islam 0

Extras (b-7 lb-2) 9

Total (all out, 70.5 overs) 244

Fall of wickets: 1-27 M. Renshaw,2-28 U. Khawaja,3-158 D. Warner,4-171 S. Smith,5-187 P. Handscomb,6-192 M. Wade,7-195 A. Agar,8-199 G. Maxwell,9-228 N. Lyon,10-244 J. Hazlewood


Mehidy Hasan 19 – 3 – 80 – 2

Nasir Hossain 3 – 2 – 2 – 0

Shakib Al Hasan 28 – 7 – 85 – 5

Taijul Islam 19.5 – 2 – 60 – 3

Mushfiqur Rahim 1 – 0 – 8 – 0


Umpire: Aleem Dar

Umpire: Nigel Llong

TV umpire: Ian Gould

Match referee: Jeff Crowe

Bangladesh won by 20 runs

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.