Mahmudullah Riyad returns to Bangladesh ODI squad against Sri Lanka

Bangladesh team

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Monday announced a 16-man ODI squad for the three three-match series against Sri Lanka.

Earlier in the day, team manager Khaled Mahmud had said Mahmudullah would ‘return home’ from Sri Lanka on Tuesday after his recent slump in form.

  • The first two ODIs of the series will be held at Dambulla on March 25 and 28 respectively.
  • The final ODI will be held in Colombo on April 1.
  • The two teams will then also play two Twenty20 international respectively on April 4 and 6 in Colombo.

BCB chief Nazmul Hassan, however, later said that there was ‘no way’ that could happen and that he had no knowledge of such a decision.

Allrounder Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury and uncapped spinner Sunzamul Islam were also called up as the Bangladesh Cricket Board announced a 16-strong squad for the three-match series on Monday evening.

Although naming a squad of 14 or 15 players is customary, the board included 16 players for the Sri Lanka ODIs. It is being thought that the selectors took the decision after day-long controversy over dropping Mahmudullah for the matches.

Spinning allrounder Mehedi Hasan Miraz and Tanbir Hayder have been dropped from Bangladesh’s last ODI squad from the New Zealand tour.

Bangladesh ODI squad against Sri Lanka

Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Subashis Roy, Shuvagata Hom, Nurul Islam Sohan, Sanjamul Islam, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat.

Bangladesh v Sri Lanka Schedules

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.