Dhaka Dynamites

BPL 2016 Champion Dhaka Dynamites. Dhaka Dynamites 159 for 9 (Lewis 45, Farhad 3-28) beat Rajshahi Kings 103 (Mominul 27, Jayed 2-12) by 56 runs.

A star-studded Dhaka Dynamites have put up a commanding show to sweep away Rajshahi Kings by 56 runs in the final to seal the Bangladesh Premier League(BPL) 2016 title in style.

Gritty knocks from Evin Lewis (45) up the order and Kumar Sangakkara (26) late in the innings took the home team to a fighting 159-9 at the Sher-e-Bangla National  Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Friday evening.

Rajshahi never seemed to threaten to reach the target. They lost wickets regularly before folding for 103.

Although Dhaka were the favourites on paper to win the tournament, they did stutter at times on their way to the final, losing to Rajshahi on the two occasions they had met before.

But they fashioned a domineering display in the title-decider, reducing it into a one-sided affair.

Dhaka had won the first two editions but it was a different franchise – Dhaka Gladiators. After Comilla Victorians clinched the title in the third edition last year, the trophy once again has returned to the team from the capital.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza led the Gladiators and the Victorians to the title in all three previous tournaments. Shakib has now notched his first title win as captain.

Toss – Rajshahi Kings
Series – Dhaka Dynamites won the 2016/17 Bangladesh Premier League
Player of the match – KC Sangakkara (Dhaka Dynamites)
Player of the series – Mahmudullah
Umpires – Khalid Mahmood (Pakistan) and Mahfuzur Rahman
TV umpire – Masudur Rahman
Match referee – Raqibul Hasan
Reserve umpire – Shafiuddin Ahmed