The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) named a 14-man squad for the first two one-day internationals of the three-match ODI series against visiting England.

Eyebrows were raised when Al-Amin was left out of the squad in the just-concluded series against Afghanistan but the right-arm pacer did not have to wait too long return to the team.

The only change made to the squad from the Afghanistan series was the omission of spinner Taijul Islam and the inclusion of Al-Amin.

Bangladesh retained spinner Mosharraf Hossain, who shone in the series decider against the Afghans, and seamer Shafiul Islam, who grabbed a wicket on Saturday.

Nasir Hossain, too, made it in, though he was never selected for any match of the Afghanistan series, which Bangladesh won 2-1.

Dhaka will host both of the first two ODIs of the three-match series against England on Oct 7 and 9.


Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Mosharraf Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed.