A sparkling century from Tamim Iqbal and an imperious show from the bowlers have powered Bangladesh to a huge 141-run win over Afghanistan for a sixth successive series win.

With the series against England just days away, the dominating win will lift the Tigers’ spirits as they sealed their 100th ODI victory at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

Tamim struck his seventh ODI ton, a run-a-ball 118, and became the highest centurion for Bangladesh in the format, surpassing ace allrounder Shakib Al Hasan.

The left-handed opener fashioned a massive 140-run second-wicket stand with Sabbir Rahman, who contributed (65), to power Bangladesh to a daunting 279-8 after electing to bat.

Southpaw Mosharraf Hossain then shone with the ball on his return to international cricket as he grabbed 3-24 and helped skittle out a stuttering Afghanistan for just 138 to seal the historic win.

Toss – Bangladesh, who chose to bat
Series – Bangladesh won the 3-match series 2-1
Player of the match – Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)
Player of the series – Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)
Umpires – C Shamshuddin (India) and Sharfuddoula
TV umpire – Masudur Rahman
Match referee – RB Richardson (West Indies)
Reserve umpire – Mahfuzur Rahman

Bangladesh Squad:

1 Tamim Iqbal
2 Soumya Sarkar
3 Mahmudullah
4 Mushfiqur Rahim (W)
5 Shakib Al Hasan
6 Sabbir Rahman
7 Mosaddek Hossain
8 Mashrafe Mortaza (C)
9 Mosharraf Hossain
10 Shafiul Islam
11 Taskin Ahmed

Afghanistan Squad:

1 Mohammad Shahzad (W)
2 Nawroz Mangal
3 Rahmat Shah
4 Hashmatullah Shahidi
5 Samiullah Shenwari
6 Asghar Stanikzai (C)
7 Mohammad Nabi
8 Najibullah Zadran
9 Rashid Khan
10 Mirwais Ashraf
11 Dawlat Zadran

Bangladesh vs Afghanistan Scoreboard


Tamim Iqbal c Sub b Nabi 118

Soumya Sarkar c Shahzad b Ashraf 11

Sabbir Rahman c Mangal b Shah 65

Shakib Al Hasan c Shahzad b Dawlat 17

Mushfiqur Rahim lbw b Rashid 12

Mahmudullah not out 32

Mosaddek st Shahzad b Rashid 4

Mosharraf Hossain c Najibullah b Nabi 4

Mashrafe Mortaza c Mangal b Ashraf 2

Shafiul Islam not out 2

Extras (b2 w8,nb2) 12

Total ( eight wickets, 50 overs) 279

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Soumya), 2-163 (Sabbir), 3-212 (Tamim), 4-226 (Shakib), 5-230 (Rahim), 6-235 (Mosaddek), 7-248 (Mosharraf), 8-270 ( Mortaza)

Did not bat: Taskin Ahmed

Bowling: Nabi 10-1-41-1 (w1), Dawlat 10-0-58-1 (nb2, w4), Ashraf 8-0-43-2, Shinwari 3-0-28-0, Rashid 10-0-39-2 (w1), Shah 8-0-59-1 (w2), Mangal 1-0-9-0


Mohammad Shahzad b Mortaza 0

Nawroz Mangal lbw b Mosharraf 33

Rahmat Shah c Sub b Taskin 36

Hashmatullah Shahidi c Tamim b Mosharraf 0

Asghar Stanikzai run out 1

Samiullah Shinwari c Rahim b Taskin 13

Mohammad Nabi c and b Mosharraf 3

Najibullah Zadran c Sabbir b Mosaddek 26

Rashid Khan run out 17

Mirwais Ashraf not out 4

Dawlat Zadran c and b Shafiul 0

Extras (b1, w4) 5

Total (all out; 33.5 overs) 138

Fall of wickets: 1-5 ( Shahzad), 2-52 ( Mangal), 3-52 (Hashmatullah), 4-55 (Stanikzai), 5-83( Samiullah ), 6-88 (Rahmat), 7-89 (Nabi), 8-132 (Rashid), 9-132 ( Najibullah), 10-138 (Dawlat)

Bowling: Mortaza 6-2-15-1 (w1), Shafiul 5.5-0-28-1 (w1), Shakib 6-0-34-0, Mosharraf 8-1-24-3, Taskin 7-0-31-2(w1), Mosaddek 1-0-5-1 (w1)